Student Reflection to Guide Instruction

6.3 Designing Student Assessments to Inform Planning: Teacher plans to use assessment results to plan for future instruction for groups of students.

During the first four weeks of my internship, I was focused more on co-teaching and being an additional support in the classroom. As I began taking over the Algebra 2 content classes, I found that merely observing my student’s work and answering their questions was not enough for me to truly gage their progress and strength as well as their confusions. I decided that I was going to implement using a five minute exit ticket around 2-3 times per week. The exit ticket I have been using is pictured here:

Screen Shot 2016-03-19 at 12.02.59 PM

In using the exit ticket twice so far, I found that I could use their feedback to guide my instruction for the next day’s lesson. I can tailor each class period to the specific questions and confusions they tell me and I can make note of what they are comfortable with that we may not need to focus on as heavily. At the end of each unit, I would like to hand back their exit tickets so that my students can reflect on their growth throughout the unit by taking note of their answers to the last question (numerical rating of their comfort level with material).

As mentioned in Medina’s book “Brain Rules” Reflective activities are important so that students can look back at their learning, discover things that work for them or don’t work for them and use this information to facilitate their future learning (2014). I believe that self-assessment and self-awareness of one’s learning is beneficial to both the students and myself. Students too often go through school one day at a time and neglect to realize that they need to be aware of what they understand and what they need more support in so that they can seek out help and focus their energy on the content that is confusing. I want to continue using this exit ticket throughout the semester and I plan on incorporating a reflection question focused on the Common Core State Standards Standards for Mathematical Practice.

Medina, J. (2014). Brain rules: 12 principles for surviving and thriving at work, home, and school. Seattle, WA: Pear Press.

Leave a comment